O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!’

It’s approved! The I129F has been approved, and not only that but three months sooner than expected.

Karen and I are ‘in the system’ to get her K1 Visa. The K1 allows a person to come to the US, get married, and become a permanent citizen.

Part of the process involves me submitting a form called an I129F. After that gets approved then all the paperwork is sent to the Embassy in London, on the next leg of the process and that’s where Karen turns in her documents which ends with her going to London for an interview. This is where they decide if they’ll let her come to the US or not.
According to the USCIS (United States Citizenship & Immigration Service) web site the I129F takes about five months to process. The K1 takes another three months. So we were thinking that Karen would be out here, permanently, in November.

In spite of knowing there’s still months to go before the 129F is done I’ve been going to the web site to check the status and every day it’s been sitting at ‘Initial Review’.
Just before bed I went to the web site knowing what I’d see. But I was wrong. It took a moment for me to make sense of what I was looking at, but the status had changed. Hardly breathing I read update and my jaw dropped as I read, “… we have approved this I129F….”.
APPROVED! More than three months faster than expected. Although it was 5AM for her, the news couldn’t wait and I texted Karen, ‘Call me!’, and thinking that I’d need her phone to make more noise I sent another, ‘wake up, dear’.
A minute later she called to see what’s up and I told her. We spent the next half hour laughing like fools.

So, what this means is that if the K1 takes the projected three months (roughly) to process, instead of Karen coming out here (did I mention ‘permanently’?) in November, she’ll be her in August!

I haven’t felt this good in a very long time.

4 thoughts on “O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!’

  1. Man that is awesome news! Congratulations! I am really happy for you guys. I remember the same giddy excitement when we were finally approved to adopt Emily. Many blessings on you and Karen!

Leave a Reply

