The Insidiousness Of It

When told he was late, Gandalf replied by saying, “A wizard is never late, Frodo Baggins. Nor is he early. He arrives precisely when he means to.”

I like to think I share in the wizards attributes in that when I’ve decided something it’s ‘spot on’, meaning it’s an accurate, educated, informed decision. Not one of those wishy-washy decisions you have to constantly go back to and prop up all the time. No. It stands as a granite monolith of decisiveness. Once placed it doesn’t move.

Not for the first, or last, time I’m eating my own words.
I’m referring to a blog in January where I had trashed the iPad. The word I used was “inert”.
In the past two weeks Karen and I wandered into the Apple store a couple of times and went to see the iPad up close.
Much like the first time I looked at it, we weren’t impressed. Neither of us could figure out what the big deal was. The next time we came to an Apple store it was to get a new case for Karen’s phone. While there we fiddled with the iPad again. We were driven mostly by sheer bafflement. What were all these other people seeing that we weren’t?

We tapped. We swiped. We scrolled, zoomed, and flicked. And somewhere along the way I started to get it.
I’m side-tracking here, but in every zombie movie, there’s someone who gets bitten but doesn’t tell anyone else. This is a huge drain on my suspension of disbelief because I could never imagine someone keeping the fact that they’re going to turn into a brain eating zombie, a secret. And yet, I had been bitten by the iPad and didn’t say anything to Karen about it. I know, it’s not exactly like turning into a zombie, but just go with it.

It was playing on my mind the rest of that day and the next day I broke down and told her. I was a little embarrassed to admit that I could kind of, maybe, sort’a see how the iPad could be useful.
I was prepared for the mocking, pointing and sniggering, but instead she agreed. Suddenly we were in deep conversation about how it’s very good at this, not so much at that, useful for such and such, and so on.
And there we were. The light came on and I wanted one… but didn’t want one. It didn’t help that Karen could see I was tempted and teased me like I was back in grade school. “Oh, you want one, don’t youuuuuuu?”
‘No, I don’t.’ I’d protest, but not convincingly enough because she’d only grin and tease me more. In all honesty I really was on the fence about it. And by the way, here’s a little advice for you; if you happen to be on the fence about something don’t ask Karen what she thinks in hopes that she’ll say something that will sway you one way or the other. That girl’s so darn neutral she makes Switzerland look fanatical.

The fence I was sitting on was torturing me. I had to get off. Calling the local Apple stores I soon found out that they only the 64 gb was in stock. I’d started calling other stores and each number I called was a store further and further away. I even got one store where the Apple operator wouldn’t put me through to the store.
“I just want to see what models they have in stock,” said I.
“I’m sorry, but I can’t put you through. Can I help you with something?”
“Yes,” I said. “What models of iPad does the store have?”
“I don’t know. You’d have to talk to someone in the store.”
“Okay, connect me to the store.”
“No.” said the Apple butt head. “You’d have to call the store.”
“Fine,” I growled. “What’s the number?”
“I’m not allowed to give that information out.”
‘click!’

It was when I called the Santa Monica store I hit pay dirt. They had the 16gb model in stock.

Soon we were home and itching to try out our new iPad.

More to come…

4 thoughts on “The Insidiousness Of It

Leave a Reply

