After this I could pilot the space shuttle

A while back I splurged and got a

Nikon D80. This was a big departure from the Canon I had which did just about everything for me. I was looking for a camera

that would force me to be a more knowledgeable photographer and just maybe take better pictures.

When it came to becoming more knowledgeable I was thinking about taking photographs. What I didn’t anticipate was how much I’d have to learn about the

tool I’d be using.

So, learning about the D80 has been an on going experience. Every now and then I’ll take out the camera and read the tomb of instructions, or look up some of the features it can do.

Nope, this isn’t a control panel for NASA. It’s the display on the top of the camera

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the viewfinder

Now the thing is, this is one heck of an awesome camera. It can do a lot and do it very well. My skills hardly challenge what this camera is able to do. Makes me wonder why it needs me to push the shutter.

Still, tonight I read up on the custom menu, AE lock, the aperture preview, and quite a bit about all the little buttons and dials.

The interesting thing is that the front and back dials do a multitude of different functions depending on what button you’re pressing at the time.

Does this mean I’m ready to go out and conquer the photographic world? Maybe. I just have to remember what I was reading about two hours ago.

This is what happens when I get it right.

Leave a Reply

